Background Image

Architectural Mix: The Stubenring

Wednesday April 27th, 2016

Background Image
wix to wordpress conversion

stubenring

 

If you are looking for a series of small, homely dormitories at the Stubenring – according to the motto “Come in the good room” – this will soon give way to frustration. But where does the name “Stubenring”, which describes the section of the Viennese Ringstrasse between Franz Josefs-Kai and Parkring, come from?

Without doubt it hangs with the “Stubenbastei” and the “Stubentor”, one of the original city gates of Vienna. According to stories, however, the name goes back to the medieval bathhouses: these were public baths, in which the people washed themselves in wooden tubs and with watering cans as hand-held showers. However, this origin is not occupied.

Ludwig Baumann: architect of the k.u.k. Ministry of War

“You know, my colleagues have whispered, when I once gave myself at the Café Prückel my coffee. Because they thought the k.u.k. Ministry of War was not up-to-date. Otto Wagner thought, with his Art nouveau, he would have created a new era. On account of – Archduke Franz Ferdinand knew that a representative building also has a corresponding ‘Reichsstil’. And finally, he was the one who gave the order for it. “Ludwig Baumann would probably tell us this way if he were to report on his work on the government buildings that were completed in 1913. As a protégé of the heir to the throne, he enjoyed many privileges, but above all he had in him a strong as well as a conservative supporter. Perhaps Otto Wagner and his pupils were simply a thorn in the eye? We do not know it.

Post for the Art Nouveau

In front of the government building, not far from the Vienna Chamber of Commerce, stands the monument of the patron Radetzky, who, in honor of Johann Strauss Vater, composed the world-famous “Radetzkymarsch”. Less musically, but really fast do the employees of the headquarters of “Bawag P.S.K work, which was the “k.u.k. Postsparkasse” in earlier times. One could be almost envious of this address, but the eight-floor building is one of the most famous art nouveau buildings in Vienna.

“Baumann can still hide behind the Archduke. A major building will his Ministry of War never be. I tend to say, ‘something impractical can never be beautiful’, therefore the k.u.k. Postsparkasse both – are beautiful and practical. Do you recognize the money stores made of the granite and marble slabs on the facade? Brilliant, I must say. Brilliant “, we imagine Otto Wagner’s words of praise to himself right, as we find.

Arts and Culture

The artists of the “MAK” (Austrian Museum of Applied Art) may find some inspiration when looking at the “Postsparkasse” or strolling along the Stubenring. When it comes to a break, Café Prückel is especially appreciated, as was the case with Ludwig Baumann. Today, it is even under monument protection. As one of the oldest Viennese coffee houses, it enchants with a very special ambience, not least thanks to its 1950s style.

It is therefore apparent that the Stubenring has a lot to offer, especially for those who are interested in the colorful mixture of different architectural styles. It is worth not only a view from the outside, but also into the buildings inside – alone the stairwell of the “Postsparkasse” is worth seeing.

Background Image

Architektonischer Mix: Der Stubenring

Mittwoch, der 27. April 2016

Background Image
wix to wordpress conversion

stubenring

 

Wer am Stubenring nach einer Aneinanderreihung von kleinen, heimeligen Wohnräumen sucht – ganz nach dem Motto „Kommen Sie rein in die gute Stube“ – der wird wohl bald frustriert aufgeben. Doch woher kommt dann der Name „Stubenring“, der den Abschnitt der Wiener Ringstraße zwischen Franz- Josefs-Kai und Parkring beschreibt?

Zweifelsohne hängt er mit der Stubenbastei und dem Stubentor zusammen, einem der ursprünglichen Stadttore Wiens. Erzählungen zufolge geht die Bezeichnung aber auf die mittelalterlichen Badestuben zurück: Das waren öffentliche Bäder, in denen sich die Leute in hölzernen Wannen und mit Gießkannen als Handbrausen wuschen. Belegt ist dieser Ursprung allerdings nicht.

Ludwig Baumann: Architekt des k.u.k. Kriegsministeriums

„Wissen Sie, meine Kollegen haben getuschelt, als ich mich einst im Café Prückel meiner Melange hingegeben habe. Weil sie meinten, das k.u.k. Kriegsministerium sei nicht zeitgemäß. Der Wagner dachte ja, mit seinem Jugendstil hätte er eine neue Ära ins Leben gerufen. Von wegen – Erzherzog Franz Ferdinand wusste, dass ein repräsentatives Gebäude auch einen entsprechenden ‚Reichsstil‘ aufzuweisen hat. Und schließlich war er es, der den Auftrag hierfür erteilt hat“, so oder so ähnlich würde es Ludwig Baumann heute wohl erzählen, wenn er über seine Arbeit am 1913 fertiggestellten Regierungsgebäude berichten sollte. Denn als Protegé des Thronfolgers genoss er so manche Privilegien – vor allem aber hatte er in ihm einen ebenso durchsetzungsstarken wie auch konservativen Unterstützer. Vielleicht war das Otto Wagner und seinen Schülern einfach ein Dorn im Auge? Wir wissen es nicht.

Post für den Jugendstil

Vor dem Regierungsgebäude, unweit der Wirtschaftskammer Wien, steht übrigens das Denkmal des Feldherrn Radetzky, dem zu Ehren Johann Strauß Vater den weltberühmten Radetzkymarsch komponierte. Weniger musikalisch dafür genauso flott arbeiteten die Mitarbeiter der ehemaligen k.u.k. Postsparkasse, die heute Zentrale der Bawag P.S.K. ist. Man könnte angesichts dieser Adresse beinahe neidisch werden, ist doch das achtstöckige Gebäude eines der berühmtesten Jugendstil-Bauwerke Wiens.

„Da kann sich der Baumann noch so sehr hinter dem Erzherzog verstecken. Ein Schlüsselwerk wird sein Kriegsministerium nicht. Ich pflege zu sagen: ‚Etwas Unpraktisches kann nie schön sein‘, darum ist die k.u.k. Postsparkasse beides – schön und praktisch. Erkennen Sie die Geldspeicher, die aus den Granit- und Marmorplatten an der Fassade gebildet werden? Brilliant, muss ich sagen. Brilliant“, so stellen wir uns jedenfalls Otto Wagners Lobesworte auf sich selbst vor. Zurecht, wie wir finden.

Kunst und Kultur

Die Künstler des MAK (Österreichisches Museum für angewandte Kunst) finden vielleicht so manche Inspiration, wenn sie die Postsparkasse betrachten oder am Stubenring entlang flanieren. Wenn es darum geht, eine Pause einzulegen, ist etwa das Café Prückel besonders geschätzt, wie es schon bei Ludwig Baumann der Fall war. Heute steht es sogar unter Denkmalschutz. Als eines der ältesten Wiener Kaffeehäuser verzaubert es mit einem ganz besonderen Ambiente, nicht zuletzt dank seiner Einrichtung im Stil der 1950er Jahre.

Es zeigt sich also, dass der Stubenring einiges zu bieten hat, vor allem für all jene, die sich für die bunte Mischung verschiedener Architekturstile interessieren. Hier lohnt sich nicht nur ein Blick von außen, sondern auch in die Gebäude hinein – alleine das Stiegenhaus der Postsparkasse ist sehenswert.