Background Image

The Emperor’s Forum: The Burgring

Friday September 2nd, 2016

Background Image
wix to wordpress conversion

burgring

 

Originally the area of the Burgring lay outside the Viennese city wall. It was only when Emperor Franz Joseph I. took the decision to grind the city walls and instead to create a boulevard, the Burgring became a part of the Viennese inner city. Originally from an avenue with five rows of trees, some of the most prestigious buildings in Vienna, such as the Hofburg, which gave it its name, as well as the art historical and natural history museum, are now found here.

Long-term planning

But it took a very long time. For quite a while, the Opernring and the Kärntner Ring were already popular strolls of the Viennese and Viennese, but it looked a few hundred meters still quite different: in the early 1870s, the foundation was laid for the design of the Burgring. Emperor Franz Joseph I wanted a suitable frame for his Hofburg and wrote a competition for the design of the place between Burgtor and Hofstallungen. Soon it was agreed that two museums were to be created here: the Art Historical Museum and the Natural History Museum, both of which were still called “Hofmuseum”. For the design of the two, Gottfried Semper and Carl von Hasenauer, by the way, were responsible – and they bore a very great responsibility.

The vision of the Kaiserforum

“You know, the erection of the two court museums was one of the most important projects of the city expansion. The Emperor was personally very much interested in an imperial forum at the Burgring – at any rate he did so when he heard my idea. Sometimes you have to get people to taste. However, the Kaiserforum was to be the crowning of the Ring Road in the form of an expansion of the Hofburg and the connection with the Habsburg collections. It began with the court museums as guardians of the treasures of nature and art. It should also be a representative of imperial plazas of ancient Rome and the Paris Louvre, “Gottfried Semper would probably describe his work. He was at that time the most important German-speaking architect, and without doubt aspired to great things – but after his death his vision of an imperial forum was never completed.

The two museums are, however, today a true visitor-magnet, both because of their architectural beauty and because of their important exhibits. That is why they speak for themselves, quite independently of the idea of an imperial forum.

Background Image

Des Kaisers Forum: Der Burgring

Freitag, der 2. September 2016

Background Image
wix to wordpress conversion

burgring

 

Ursprünglich lag das Areal des Burgrings außerhalb der Wiener Stadtmauer. Erst, als Kaiser Franz Joseph I. den Beschluss fasste, die Stadtmauern zu schleifen und stattdessen einen Prachtboulevard anzulegen, wurde auch der Burgring zu einem Teil der Wiener Innenstadt. Bestand er ursprünglich aus einer Allee mit fünf Baumreihen, finden sich hier mittlerweile einige der prestigeträchtigsten Bauten Wiens – etwa die Hofburg, die ihm auch seinen Namen verlieh, sowie das Kunsthistorische und das Naturhistorische Museum.

Langjährige Planung

Bis es aber soweit war, dauerte es. Ziemlich lange sogar, denn während der Opernring und der Kärntner Ring bereits beliebte Flaniermeilen der Wienerinnen und Wiener waren, sah es wenige hundert Meter noch ganz anders aus: Erst in den frühen 1870er Jahren legte man den Grundstein für die Ausgestaltung des Burgrings. Kaiser Franz Joseph I. wünschte sich eine passende Rahmung für seine Hofburg und schrieb einen Wettbewerb für die Gestaltung des Platzes zwischen Burgtor und Hofstallungen aus. Bald war man sich einig, dass hier zwei Museen entstehen sollten: Das Kunsthistorische und das Naturhistorische Museum, die damals beide noch Hofmuseum hießen. Für die Gestaltung der beiden zeichneten sich schließlich übrigens Gottfried Semper und Carl von Hasenauer verantwortlich – und damit trugen sie eine sehr große Verantwortung.

Die Vision des Kaiserforums

„Wissen Sie, die Errichtung der beiden Hofmuseen war eines der wichtigsten Vorhaben der Stadterweiterung. Der Kaiser höchstpersönlich wünschte sich ein Kaiserforum am Burgring – jedenfalls tat er dies, als er meine Idee hierzu hörte. Manchmal muss man die Leute halt erst auf den Geschmack bringen. Wie dem auch sei, das Kaiserforum sollte in Form einer Erweiterung der Hofburg und der Verbindung mit den habsburgischen Sammlungen die Krönung der Ringstraße sein. Sie begann daher bei den Hofmuseen als Hüter der Schätze von Natur und Kunst. Wahrlich repräsentativ sollte es außerdem sein, eine Hommage an imperiale Platzanlagen des antiken Roms und den Pariser Louvre“, würde wohl Gottfried Semper sein Werk beschreiben. Er war damals der bedeutendste deutschsprachige Architekt und strebte zweifelsohne Großes an – doch nach seinem Tod wurde seine Vision eines Kaiserforums nie vollendet.

Nichtsdestotrotz sind die beiden Museen heute wahre Besuchermagnete, sowohl aufgrund ihrer architektonischen Schönheit als auch wegen ihrer bedeutenden Exponate. Darum sprechen sie auch für sich selbst, ganz unabhängig von der Idee eines Kaiserforums.