Background Image

The history of the Vienna Opera Ball

Tuesday February 21st, 2017

Background Image
wix to wordpress conversion
Wiener Staatsoper

Wiener Staatsoper

“Alles Walzer”, this is the motto for  the Opera Ball. Just like no other event, the traditions night throws their light on the “Music City Vienna” and the bright Vienna Ring. On February 23, 2017 the Opera Ball will take place for the 61st time. According to Lotte Tobisch and Desirée Treichl-Stürgkh, Marie Großbauer is the new event manager this year. Until the Opera Ball became the highlight of the ball season, it was a long journey.

Debut as a dance party event

The history of the Opera Ball goes back to the year 1814/15, the time of the Vienna Congress. The artists of the “Hofoper” at that time organized a dance event as a counterpoint to the political talks. The new cultural event was not yet considered a “ball” and was not held until 1877 in the Vienna State Opera. The Emperor feared that the event would take on similar proportions as the opera balls in Paris, which were known for their turmoil and unrest.

But he quickly changed his mind: the orchestra of the first Opera Ball was directed by Johann Strauss Sohn. The opening melody, the opera-soirée-polka, inspired the audience so much that it pushed away its chairs and spontaneously began to dance. This event is considered to be the birth time of the Opera Ball.

The Opera Ball today

After the end of the monarchy, the opera ball took place for the first time on 26 January 1935 again. Its program has always been a tradition: every year, 180 dance couples, consisting of a ladies’ and gentlemen’s committee, join the fan pole, composed by Carl Michael Ziehrer, into the ballroom. The traditional diadem of the debutists from 394 clear and sapphire blue Swarovski crystals was designed this year by Karl Lagerfeld. After the arrival of the Federal President in his lodge and the sound of the Austrian National Anthem, the dancefloor will be released for all other ball guests. After the two quadrilles at midnight and at 3 o’clock in the morning, the ball is completed by 5 o’clock.

In addition to the splendid event in the Vienna State Opera, it is worth taking a look behind the scenes – Pardon – before the doors. Vienna’s most beautiful boulevard is right in front of the “Staatsoper”: the Vienna Ring! This year for the first time, Lightgates from Stubenring to Opernring, create a ball-like atmosphere, on the initiative of the Vienna Chamber of Commerce. In harmony with the most beautiful and historical buildings of the country, the illumination gives the evening an extraordinary flair.

Good to know: The opera ball is internationally known to hold similar events in New York, Dubai, Zagreb and Kuala Lumpur as “Vienna Opera Ball”. However, our Viennese Opera Ball remains unique in its splendor and liveliness.

Background Image

Die Geschichte des Wiener Opernballs

Dienstag, der 21. Februar 2017

Background Image
wix to wordpress conversion
Wiener Staatsoper

Wiener Staatsoper

„Alles Walzer“, heißt es dieses Jahr wieder zum Auftakt des Wiener Opernballs. Wie kaum eine andere Veranstaltung wirft die Traditionsnacht ihr Licht auf die Musikstadt Wien und den stimmungsvoll strahlenden Wiener Ring. Am 23. Februar 2017  findet der Opernball bereits zum 61. Mal statt. Nach Lotte Tobisch und Desirée Treichl-Stürgkh ist heuer Marie Großbauer die neue „Ballmutti“. Bis der Opernball zum heute bekannten Höhepunkt der Ballsaison wurde, war es jedoch eine lange Reise.

Debüt als Tanzparty

Die Geschichte des Opernballs geht auf das Jahr 1814/15 zurück, auf die Zeit des Wiener Kongresses. Die Künstler der damaligen Hofoper organisierten damals eine Tanzveranstaltung als Gegenpol zu den politischen Gesprächen. Das neue Kultur-Event galt zunächst noch nicht als „Ball“ und fand erst 1877 in der Wiener Staatsoper statt. Der Kaiser befürchtete nämlich, dass die Veranstaltung ähnliche Ausmaße wie die Opernbälle in Paris annehmen würde – diese waren bekannt für ihre Tumulte und Unruhen.

Seine Meinung änderte er aber schnell: Das Orchester des ersten Opernballs wurde von Johann Strauß Sohn dirigiert. Die Eröffnungsmelodie, die Opern-Soirée-Polka, begeisterte das Publikum so sehr, dass es seine Stühle wegschob und spontan zu tanzen begann. Dieses Ereignis gilt als Geburtsstunde des Opernballs.

Der Opernball heute

Nach dem Ende der Monarchie fand der Opernball zum ersten Mal wieder am 26. Jänner 1935 statt. Sein Programm ist bis heute Tradition: Jährlich ziehen 180 Tanzpaare, bestehend aus einem Damen- und Herrenkomitee, zur Fächerpolonaise, komponiert von Carl Michael Ziehrer, in den Ballsaal ein. Das traditionelle Diadem der Debütantinnen aus 394 klaren und saphirblauen Swarovski-Kristallen wurde heuer von Karl Lagerfeld entworfen. Nach dem Einzug des Bundespräsidenten in seine Loge und dem Ertönen der Bundeshymne wird die Tanzfläche für alle anderen Ballgäste freigegeben. Im Anschluss an die beiden Quadrillen um Mitternacht und um 3 Uhr früh wird der Ball um Punkt 5 Uhr beendet.

Neben dem prunkvollen Ereignis in der Wiener Staatsoper lohnt es sich, einen Blick hinter die Kulissen – Pardon – vor die Türen zu werfen. Denn direkt vor der Staatsoper liegt Wiens Prachtstraße schlechthin: der Wiener Ring! Dieses Jahr schaffen erstmalig Light Gates von Stubenring bis Opernring Ball-Atmosphäre, auf Initiative der Wirtschaftskammer Wien. In Harmonie mit den schönsten und geschichtsträchtigsten Bauwerken des Landes verleiht die Beleuchtung dem Abend ein außergewöhnliches Flair.

Gut zu wissen: Der Opernball ist international so bekannt, dass ähnliche Veranstaltungen  in New York, Dubai, Zagreb und Kuala Lumpur als „Vienna Opera Ball“ stattfinden. In seiner Pracht und Lebendigkeit bleibt unser Wiener Opernball jedoch einzigartig.