Background Image

The traffic arteries and promenade of the city

Wednesday April 20th, 2016

Background Image
wix to wordpress conversion

verkehrsader

 

In 2015, the Vienna Ring Road celebrated its 150th anniversary. Just as long as it enjoys its reputation as a splendid boulevard – even as one of the most beautiful in the world. We, of course, know this and appreciate our Vienna Ring not only because of its urban development and architectural achievements, but also because of its role as one of the main traffic arteries of Vienna.

Was Emperor Franz Joseph I. already aware of this when, in 1857, he gave the decree for the fall of the Wall around the inner city? We do not know it. But the start-up shot for the construction of a boulevard, which was designed in the form of a ring, and which has a decisive influence on the townscape, was doubtless enough. In the course of time, many of Austria’s most important buildings were built along the Ring road: the Parliament, the Town Hall, the University of Vienna and the Vienna State Opera.

By the way, 85 architects from all over Europe submitted their plans for the design of the Vienna Ring Road. Because no one could convince on his own, the Emperor commissioned a commission of his own, including renowned names such as Theophil von Hansen, Heinrich von Ferstel, Gottfried Semper, and Carl von Hasenauer. They influenced the style of the boulevard and its buildings, now known as historicism.

On May 1, 1865, the Vienna Ring Road was officially opened by Emperor Franz Joseph, together with Empress Elisabeth, although not all the construction work had been completed. Because these were heavy work and were finished with great effort. Of course the courtly society and the upper middle class did not have much to do with this – for them; the Ring Road was already the “Stroll Mile” and “Hot Spot”. And actually it has hardly changed to this day…

Background Image

Die Verkehrsader und Flaniermeile der Stadt

Mittwoch, der 20. April 2016

Background Image
wix to wordpress conversion

verkehrsader

 

2015 feierte die Wiener Ringstraße ihr 150. Jubiläum. Genauso lange schon genießt sie ihren Ruf als Prachtboulevard – sogar als einer der schönsten weltweit. Wir Wienerinnen und Wiener wissen das natürlich und schätzen unseren Wiener Ring nicht nur aufgrund seiner städtebaulichen und architektonischen Leistungen, sondern auch wegen seiner Rolle als eine der Hauptverkehrsadern Wiens.

Ob Kaiser Franz Joseph I. das schon geahnt hat, als er 1857 den Erlass für den Fall der Mauer rund um die Innere Stadt erteilte? Wir wissen es nicht. Doch damit fiel zweifelsohne der Startschuss für den Bau eines Boulevards, der ringförmig angelegt wurde und der heute das Stadtbild maßgeblich prägt. Im Laufe der Zeit entstanden entlang der Ringstraße nämlich zahlreiche der wichtigsten Bauten Österreichs: etwa das Parlament, das Rathaus, die Universität Wien und die Wiener Staatsoper.

Übrigens, für die Gestaltung der Ringstraße reichten 85 Architekten aus ganz Europa ihre Pläne ein. Weil keiner für sich alleine überzeugen konnte, beauftragte der Kaiser eine eigene Kommission mit dem Projekt – darunter renommierte Namen wie Theophil von Hansen, Heinrich von Fersten, Gottfried Semper und Carl von Hasenauer. Sie prägten den heute als Historismus bekannten Stil des Boulevards und seiner Gebäude.

Am 1. Mai 1865 wurde die Wiener Ringstraße dann feierlich von Kaiser Franz Joseph gemeinsam mit Kaiserin Elisabeth eröffnet, obwohl noch nicht alle Bauarbeiten abgeschlossen waren. Denn diese waren Schwerstarbeit und wurden unter größten Anstrengungen fertiggestellt. Davon bekamen die höfische Gesellschaft und das Großbürgertum freilich nur wenig mit – für sie war die Ringstraße schon damals Flaniermeile und „Hot Spot“, an dem man sich gerne sehen ließ. Und eigentlich hat sich das bis heute kaum verändert …