Background Image

Historic Ring Road

Friday November 27th, 2015

Background Image
wix to wordpress conversion

geschichte

 

“It is my will,” said Kaiser Franz Joseph in 1857, announcing that he was planning to expand the inner city of Vienna in the sense of a connection with the suburbs. This gave him the starting shot for the largest urban development measure of the time: The Vienna Ring Road.

150 years ago, the Vienna Ring Road was ceremoniously opened, although at this time only a part of the now 5.3 km long and 57 m wide Ring Road was completed. All in all, the construction work lasted for more than half a century, when the Vienna Ring – which is not at all circular – was not only one of the most important traffic arteries in Vienna. Today it is also one of the most beautiful boulevards in the world.

No wonder the best architects of their time were responsible for the appearance of the Ring Road. Among others, Theophil von Hansen, Heinrich von Ferstel and Friedrich Schmidt characterized the architectural style and created individual works of art with their buildings. Did you know that there are so many prestigious buildings, palaces and parks on the Vienna Ring as nowhere else?

It is precisely this historic mix of styles that gives Vienna’s Ring Road its unique appearance. To underscore this, the Christmas lights were also designed in the style of a gothic-inspired arcade arches that set an architecturally stylized quote.

Background Image

Geschichtsträchtige Ringstraße

Freitag, der 27. November 2015

Background Image
wix to wordpress conversion

geschichte

 

„Es ist mein Wille …“, sagte 1857 Kaiser Franz Joseph und tat damit kund, dass er die Erweiterung der inneren Stadt Wien im Sinne einer Verbindung mit den Vorstädten plante. Damit gab er den Startschuss für die größte städtebauliche Maßnahme der damaligen Zeit: Die Wiener Ringstraße.

Vor 150 Jahren wurde die Wiener Ringstraße dann feierlich eröffnet, obwohl zu diesem Zeitpunkt erst ein Teil der heute 5,3 km langen und 57 m breiten Ringstraße fertiggestellt war. Insgesamt dauerten die Bauarbeiten nämlich mehr als ein halbes Jahrhundert, in dem der Wiener Ring – der eigentlich gar nicht kreisrund ist – nicht nur zu einer der wichtigsten Verkehrsadern Wiens wurde. Heute zählt er auch zu den schönsten Prachtboulevards der Welt.

Kein Wunder, waren doch die besten Architekten ihrer Zeit für das Aussehen der Ringstraße verantwortlich. Unter anderem prägten Theophil von Hansen, Heinrich von Ferstel und Friedrich Schmidt den architektonischen Stil und schufen mit ihren Gebäuden einzelne Kunstwerke. Wussten Sie, dass sich am Wiener Ring so viele repräsentative Bauten, Palais und Parks befinden, wie nirgendwo sonst?

Genau dieser historische Stilmix verleiht der Wiener Ringstraße ihre einzigartige Anmutung. Um dies zu unterstreichen, wurde auch die diesjährige Weihnachtsbeleuchtung in Anlehnung daran gestaltet – mit gotisch inspirierten Arkadenbögen, die ein architektonisch stilisiertes Zitat setzen.