Background Image

Home of Pallas Athene: The Dr. Karl-Renner-Ring

Thursday October 20th, 2016

Background Image
wix to wordpress conversion

dr-karl-renner-ring

 

Where today’s politicians enter and leave, is one of the most important sections on the ring. Named after the first President of the Republic of Austria in 1956, Dr. Karl Renner (who came to history for his contribution to the formation of the Second Republic as an honorary citizen of the city of Vienna), the Ring section is today considered a home for the Palais Eckstein, the Republic Monument Volksgarten and, of course, the Parliament.

The Parliament Building: the foundation stone of the Republic of Austria

Until the founding of Parliament, there was a long way to go: in the basic plan of the city expansion, after the demolition of the city wall, no parliament building was planned – Emperor Franz Joseph ruled at that time still neo-absolutistic and came out without popular representation. In 1848, however, an initial flare-up of the desire for parliamentarism ensued, and after numerous discussions, the interior minister commissioned the architect Theophil von Hansen in 1865 to build the parliament building.

Theophil von Hansen

“As an architect of the “Reichsratsgebäude”, it was important to me that the construction of the rest of the Vienna Ring Road significantly distanced itself. A tall pedestal and a wide ramp seemed just right to emphasize the monumental dignity of the building. In the interior of the building, it was a matter of great importance to me to erect a marble colonnade to build a link between the House of Men and the House of Representatives, and to give the entree a splendid glow. “Hansen’s words might have been the same, when he began the planning of today’s parliament. With great success! The building is a real eye-catcher on the boulevard and the architect has also thought about the choice of architecture. The Parliament is built in the style of an Attic temple, which points to the Greek beginnings of democracy. And so it came that the foundation stone of this was also laid in Austria.

Always popular for young and old

The Dr.-Karl-Renner-Ring has yet another ace in the sleeve: the Volksgarten. Here, young and old get their money’s worth: Whether a romantic walk through the park, a cultural stopover at the Theseus temple, culinary delights or a lively party night – here is something for everyone at any time.

Picture © Photographische Correspondenz, XXVII. Jahrgang, Nr. 358 (1890)

Background Image

Heimat der Pallas Athene: Der Dr.-Karl-Renner-Ring

Donnerstag, der 20. Oktober 2016

Background Image
wix to wordpress conversion

dr-karl-renner-ring

 

Dort, wo heute Politiker ein- und ausgehen, befindet sich einer der wichtigsten Abschnitte am Ring. Benannt 1956 nach dem ersten Bundespräsidenten der Republik Österreich, Dr. Karl Renner (der für seinen Beitrag zur Entstehung der Zweiten Republik als Ehrenbürger der Stadt Wien in die Geschichte einging), gilt der Ringabschnitt heute als Heimat für das Palais Eckstein, das Republikdenkmal, den Volksgarten und natürlich das Parlament.

Das Parlamentsgebäude: Grundstein der Republik Österreich

Bis zur Entstehung des Parlaments war es ein weiter Weg: Im Grundplan der Stadterweiterung, nach dem Abriss der Stadtmauer, war nämlich kein Parlamentsgebäude vorgesehen – Kaiser Franz Joseph regierte damals noch neoabsolutistisch und kam ohne Volksvertretung aus. Dann kam es jedoch 1848 zu einem ersten Aufflackern des Wunsches nach Parlamentarismus und nach unzähligen Diskussionen gab der Innenminister 1865 dem Architekten Theophil von Hansen den Auftrag, das Parlamentsgebäude zu errichten.

Theophil von Hansen, Grundsteinleger der Demokratie

„Als Architekt des Reichsratsgebäudes war es mir wichtig, dass sich der Bau vom Rest der Ringstraße maßgeblich distanziert. Ein hoher Sockel und eine weit geschwungene Rampe erschienen mir genau richtig, um die monumentale Würde des Gebäudes hervorzuheben. Im Inneren des Gebäudes war es mir ein großes Anliegen, eine Säulenhalle aus Marmor zu errichten, um ein Bindeglied zwischen Herren- und Abgeordnetenhaus zu errichten und das Entree in einem prunkvollen Glanz strahlen zu lassen“ – so oder so ähnlich könnten die Worte Hansens gewesen sein, als er mit der Planung des heutigen Parlaments begann. Mit vollem Erfolg! Das Gebäude ist ein wahrer Blickfang in der Prachtstraße und auch bei der Wahl des Baustils hat der Architekt mitgedacht. Das Parlament ist im Stil eines attischen Tempels erbaut, was auf die griechischen Anfänge der Demokratie verweist. Und so kam es, dass der Grundstein dieser auch in Österreich gelegt wurde.

Stets beliebt bei Jung und Alt

Der Dr.-Karl-Renner-Ring hat aber noch ein Ass im Ärmel: Den Volksgarten. Hier kommen Jung und Alt voll auf ihre Kosten: Ob ein romantischer Spaziergang durch den Park, ein kultureller Abstecher beim Theseustempel, kulinarische Ergüsse oder eine ausgelassene Partynacht – hier ist für jedermann, jederzeit etwas dabei.

Bild © Photographische Correspondenz, XXVII. Jahrgang, Nr. 358 (1890)