Background Image

Historical searching for tracks: The „Postsparkasse“ on the Vienna Ring

Thursday February 9th, 2017

Background Image
wix to wordpress conversion
Postsparkasse Wien, Georg-Coch-Platz

Postsparkasse Wien, Georg-Coch-Platz

“Something unpractical can never be beautiful” – architect Otto Wagner was guided by this quotation when he began drafting one of the most important financial buildings in Vienna in 1904: the “Postsparkasse”. It is one of the most famous art nouveau buildings in the capital and the current headquarters of “BAWAG PSK”. The moving history behind the building at Georg-Coch-Platz, however, is only known to a few. We have gone for you on the search for tracks and have taken a closer look at the magnificent building on the Stubenring.

How everything began…

Originally the “k.k. Post Office” was located at the Wollzeile. But with the growing importance – and especially because the Wollzeile suffered under bad constructional as well as hygienic conditions (mice have even eaten the snacks of the bank employees the snack) – Vienna had to create a new building. This had already been planned in the course of the construction of the Ring Road: as the center of the Stubenviertel, where the Franz Joseph barracks and the associated Franz Joseph Tor had their place. These had to give way after the demolition of the Viennese city wall.

From the opening by the architect Otto Wagner and the founder Georg Coch in 1906, the premises of the building were used as offices and to handle the daily financial transactions. In the new building, too, the goal was to bring citizens closer to saving by giving everyone access to banking facilities. This was also popular with the population.

In the Second World War, the post office park was largely spared by bomb hits. It was thus that the first general restoration was only necessary in the years 1970 to 1985. In the course of this the underground car park under the building was erected – after completion, the monument of Georg Coch was moved .Just in time for the 100th anniversary of the “Postsparkasse”, the building was finally renovated from 2004 onwards. The appearance of an oversized money box with a façade made of aluminum, granite and marble has been preserved, although it has not really appealed to the emperor (although today it is regarded as the key feature of European Modernism and the turn of the century in Vienna).

5-4-3-2-1 GO!

… with these words, on 25 November 2016, at the gates of the “Postsparkasse”, the opening of the festive season was officially celebrated with the opening ceremony of the Christmas lights on the Vienna Ring. Walter Ruck, President of the Economic Chamber of Vienna, as well as councilor Renate Brauner, brought the city together with the push of the red power button to sparkle. A total of 74 light gates and numerous illuminated trees brought back the historic architecture and the impressive atmosphere of the Ring from that day onwards and radiated with each other. And we cannot wait until the end of this year, when this happens again.

Background Image

Historische Spurensuche: Die Postsparkasse am Wiener Ring

Donnerstag, der 9. Februar 2017

Background Image
wix to wordpress conversion
Postsparkasse Wien, Georg-Coch-Platz

Postsparkasse Wien, Georg-Coch-Platz

„Etwas Unpraktisches kann nie schön sein“ – von diesem Zitat ließ sich Architekt Otto Wagner leiten, als er 1904 mit dem Entwurf eines der wichtigsten Finanzhäuser in Wien begann: der Postsparkasse. Sie ist eines der berühmtesten Jugendstilgebäude der Hauptstadt und die aktuelle Zentrale der BAWAG PSK. Die bewegte Geschichte hinter dem Bauwerk am Georg-Coch-Platz ist jedoch nur wenigen bekannt. Wir sind für euch auf Spurensuche gegangen und haben das prächtige Gebäude am Stubenring einmal genauer unter die Lupe genommen.

Wie alles begann …

Ursprünglich befand sich das „k.k. Postsparcassenamt“ in der Wollzeile. Doch mit wachsender Bedeutung der „Sparcasse für den kleinen Mann“ – und insbesondere, da man in der Wollzeile unter schlechten baulichen wie auch hygienischen Verhältnissen litt (Mäuse sollen sogar den Bankangestellten die Jause weggefressen haben) – musste ein neues Gebäude her. Dieses war im Zuge der Verbauung der Ringstraße auch bereits geplant: Als Zentrum des Stubenviertels, wo zuvor die Franz Joseph Kaserne und das dazugehörige Franz Joseph Tor ihren Platz hatten. Diese mussten nach dem Abriss der Wiener Stadtmauer weichen.

Ab der Eröffnung durch den Architekten Otto Wagner und den Gründer Georg Coch im Jahr 1906 wurden die Räumlichkeiten des Gebäudes als Büros und zur Abwicklung der täglichen Finanzgeschäfte genutzt. Auch im neuen Bauwerk war es das Ziel, den Bürgern das Sparen nahezubringen, indem man allen den Zugang zu Bankgeschäften ermöglichte. Dies fand auch großen Zuspruch seitens der Bevölkerung.

Im 2. Weltkrieg blieb die Postsparkasse von Bombentreffern weitestgehend verschont. So kam es, dass die erste Generalsanierung erst in den Jahren 1970 bis 1985 von Nöten war. Im Zuge dieser wurde auch die Tiefgarage unter dem Gebäude errichtet – nach deren Fertigstellung man übrigens das Denkmal Georg Cochs in die Baulinie der Stubenringverbauung übersiedelte. Pünktlich vor der 100-Jahres-Feier der Postsparkasse wurde das Gebäude schließlich ab 2004 einer weiteren Sanierung unterzogen. Die Optik einer überdimensionalen Geldkiste mit einer Fassade aus Aluminium, Granit und Marmor blieb ihr aber erhalten – obwohl diese schon dem Kaiser nicht wirklich gefallen haben soll (gleichwohl gilt sie heute als Schlüsselwerk der europäischen Moderne und der Wiener Jahrhundertwende).

5-4-3-2-1 GO!

… mit diesen Worten wurde letztes Jahr, am 25. November 2016, vor den Toren der Postsparkasse, festlich die Weihnachtszeit am Wiener Ring eingeläutet: Und zwar mit der Eröffnung der Weihnachtsbeleuchtung. Walter Ruck, Präsident der Wirtschaftskammer Wien, , sowie Stadträtin Renate Brauner brachten die Stadt gemeinsam mit dem roten Einschaltknopf zum Funkeln. Ganze 74 Light Gates und zahlreiche beleuchtete Bäume brachten ab diesem Tag die historische Architektur und die eindrucksvolle Atmosphäre der Ringstraße wieder zur Geltung und strahlten miteinander um die Wette. Und wir können es kaum erwarten, bis es heuer wieder soweit ist.