Background Image

Historic hotspot on the Ring: The Schottenring

Thursday November 24th, 2016

Background Image
wix to wordpress conversion

Der Schottenring: Historischer Hotspot der Wiener Ringstraße

The Schottenring: home of many historical buildings, hotspot for night owls and domicile for lovers of the Danube Canal. The many possibilities offered by this ring segment are immeasurable. But what few people know is that there is a lot of history.

Stage free!

Did you know, for example, that the Ringtheater was once the place where the Land Police Directorate is today? This was built in 1872, because the longing for a stable theater in Vienna grew. Unfortunately it was not successful. “I have done my best – I have begun to expand the repertoire with German and Italian operas and varieties – but nothing helped. People just did not want to come to my theater “- this might have been the words of the first theater director Friedrich Strampfer after he handed over his theater to Franz Januar after many failures. But even under his direction, it just did not run. In 1881, the Ringtheater burnt down completely – today the well-known “Landespolizeidirektion” stands at that place.

Colorful activity

A part of the ring section lies directly on the Danube Canal – and this is regarded as a hotspot for young and old in all seasons. Whether for parties, sportsmen or connoisseurs who would like to spend relaxing hours with friends: here, clubs, cafes and bars lined up, surrounded by the unique flair of the ring in combination with the water spray. In addition, the mixture of cool design and magnificent nature – this potpourri from a variety of individual leisure options makes a visit to the Schottenring and the Danube canal an unforgettable experience – at any time of the day or at night.

Background Image

Historischer Hotspot am Ring: Der Schottenring

Donnerstag, der 24. November 2016

Background Image
wix to wordpress conversion

Der Schottenring: Historischer Hotspot der Wiener Ringstraße

Der Schottenring: Heimat vieler historischer Bauwerke, Hotspot für Nachtschwärmer und Domizil für Liebhaber des Donaukanals. Die vielen Möglichkeiten, die sich besonders an diesem Ringabschnitt bieten, gehen ins unermessliche. Doch was die wenigsten wissen: Dahinter steckt eine Menge Geschichte.

Bühne frei!

Wusstet ihr zum Beispiel, dass sich an der Stelle, wo sich heute die Landespolizeidirektion befindet, früher das Ringtheater war? Dieses wurde 1872 erbaut, weil die Sehnsucht nach einem stabilen und beständigen Theater in Wien immer größer wurde. Leider war es nicht erfolgreich. „Ich hab’ mein Bestes gegeben  – habe angefangen das Repertoire durch Sprechstücke, deutsche und italienische Opern und Varietés erweitert – aber nichts hat geholfen. Die Leute wollten einfach nicht in mein Theater kommen“ – dies könnte der erste Theaterdirektor Friedrich Strampfer gesagt haben, nachdem er sein Theater nach vielen Misserfolgen an Franz Januar übergab. Doch auch unter seiner Leitung wollte es einfach nicht laufen. 1881 brannte dann das Ringtheater zur Gänze ab – heute steht an jener Stelle die wohlbekannte Landespolizeidirektion.

Buntes Treiben

Ein Teil des Ringabschnitts liegt direkt am Donaukanal – und der gilt zu jeder Jahreszeit als Hotspot für Jung & Alt. Ob für Partymäuse, Sportler oder Genießer, die gerne entspannte Stunden mit Freunden verbringen wollen: Hier reihen sich Clubs, Cafés und Bars aneinander, umgeben vom einmaligen Flair, welches der Ring in Kombination mit dem Wasser versprüht. Dazu kommt die Mischung aus coolem Design und prächtiger Natur – dieses Potpourri aus den verschiedensten individuellen Freizeitmöglichkeiten macht einen Besuch am Schottenring und am dazugehörigen Donaukanal unvergesslich – und das zu jeder Tages- und Nachtzeit.