Background Image

A major cultural event – The Vienna Film Festival

Wednesday July 13th, 2016

Background Image
wix to wordpress conversion

wiener-filmfest

 

We have listened to the people of Vienna what the highlights of the summer in Vienna are. The answers were about strolling in the city, along the Danube canal and of course the Vienna Ring Road, followed by eating ice cream and swimming in the Viennese indoor swimming pools. The film festival at the Rathausplatz in Vienna has a clear place in the heart of Viennese people, as this is particularly high on the To Do list. Many people even call it a “second living room” during the summer months, this year it will be from 14 July to 4 September – and this is the 26th time.

Culture and culinary delights with a unique backdrop
Since 1991, it has been a major cultural and culinary festival in Europe, since it was a completely new setting for classical music, opera and operetta, ballet, musical and jazz. In the open air, in a relaxed atmosphere and accompanied by the finest international gastronomy, it attracts not only Viennese visitors every year to the town hall square, but also numerous travelers. Where else can you enjoy culture with free admission and in the unique atmosphere between the Vienna Ring Road and the Town Hall?

Cultural bridge from Vienna to New York
This year, visitors will also experience a special sensation. For the first time, productions from the Metropolitan Opera in New York will be shown at a public festival. Vienna and its film festival are thus becoming a cultural pioneer. To celebrate this, an outstanding production of “La Bohème” from the Met takes place on the 300 square meters “full HD” screen. They are followed by a further 65 performances and concerts from the area of classical music as well as contemporary art.

All information about the program and the gastronomy can be found on the official website of the Vienna Film Festival. In any case, we will spend many evenings with cultural and culinary enjoyment…

Picture: © stadt wien marketing

Background Image

Kulturelles Grossereignis: Das Wiener Film Festival

Mittwoch, der 13. Juli 2016

Background Image
wix to wordpress conversion

wiener-filmfest

 

Wir haben uns mal umgehört, was denn die Highlights des Sommers in Wien sind. Da wurden etwa das Flanieren in der Stadt, entlang des Donaukanals und natürlich der Wiener Ringstraße genannt, gefolgt von Eisessen und Schwimmen in den Wiener Freibädern. Einen festen Platz im Herzen der Wienerinnen und Wiener hat offensichtlich auch das Film Festival am Wiener Rathausplatz, denn das steht auf der To Do-Liste besonders weit oben. Von vielen sogar als „zweites Wohnzimmer“ während der Sommermonate bezeichnet, findet es heuer vom 14. Juli bis zum 4. September statt – und das bereits zum 26. Mal.

Kultur und Kulinarik vor einmaliger Kulisse
Seitdem es 1991 erstmals klassische Musik, Oper und Operette, Ballett, Musical sowie Jazz in einen völlig neuen Rahmen gestellt hat, wuchs es zum größten Kultur- und Kulinarik-Festival Europas. Unter freiem Himmel, in entspanntem Ambiente und begleitet von feinster internationaler Gastronomie zieht es nicht nur Wienerinnen und Wiener alljährlich auf den Rathausplatz, sondern auch zahlreiche Reisende. Denn wo sonst kann man Kultur bei freiem Eintritt und in der einmaligen Atmosphäre zwischen Wiener Ring und Rathaus genießen?

Kulturelle Brücke von Wien nach New York
Dieses Jahr erwartet die Besucherinnen und Besucher außerdem eine besondere Sensation: Weltweit zum ersten Mal werden Produktionen aus der Metropolitan Opera in New York bei einem öffentlichen Festival gezeigt. Wien und sein Filmfestival werden damit zum kulturellen Vorreiter. Um dies zu feiern, macht auf der 300 Quadratmeter großen Full HD-Leinwand eine herausragende Produktion von „La Bohème“ aus der Met den Auftakt. Ihr folgen weitere 65 Aufführungen und Konzerte aus dem Bereich der Klassik ebenso wie der zeitgenössischen Kunst.

Alle Informationen zum Programm und zur Gastronomie gibt es auf der offiziellen Website des Wiener Film Festivals. Wir werden jedenfalls den ein oder anderen Feierabend mit kulturellem und kulinarischen Genuss verbringen …

Bild: © stadt wien marketing