Background Image

National Holiday in Vienna

Wednesday October 26th, 2016

Background Image
wix to wordpress conversion

nationalfeiertag

 

“Land der Berge, Land am Strome …” – it is said every year on October 26 throughout Austria. Since 51 years now, we already celebrate the sovereignty and neutrality of our country. So also on the Vienna Ring Road where you commemorated this date in a very special way.

Much beloved Austria

Who dares to Vienna boulevard on the national holiday that gets truly something to see: The Austrian army passes the day – to honor the country Austria – with a wreath-laying ceremony at the outer castle gate, and then proceeds to a proud information and exhibition at Vienna Heldenplatz, in the Teinfaltstraße, Schottengasse, Freyung and am Hof. Finally, there is then the swearing-in of recruits in the presence of the federal government at the Heldenplatz. This year for the first time in the country´s History is Doris Bures, President of the Austrian Parliament responsible for this task, she is the first woman to do that.

Pure Culture!

Who but rather sets on this holiday on art and culture, is on the national holiday in Vienna also fully on its costs: Many museums – such as the Art and Natural History Museum and the Museum of Applied Art – you can on this day with even lower admission or visit even now. Furthermore, it has the rare opportunity to Parliament the Federal Chancellery and the Office of the President free to visit. For this open only on this day exclusively its doors to the possibility to offer to interested visitors, to allow “behind the scenes” of the political hotspots a glance.

The only thing we say: Have a nice day, you, much beloved Austria!

Background Image

Vielgeliebtes Österreich-der Nationalfeiertag in Wien

Mittwoch, der 26. Oktober 2016

Background Image
wix to wordpress conversion

nationalfeiertag

 

„Land der Berge, Land am Strome…“ – heißt es jedes Jahr am 26. Oktober in ganz Österreich. Seit 51 Jahren feiern wir nun schon die Souveränität und Neutralität unseres Landes. So auch am Wiener Ring wo man diesen Tag auf eine ganz besondere Weise begeht.

Vielgeliebtes Österreich

Wer sich am Nationalfeiertag auf den Wiener Prachtboulevard wagt, der bekommt wahrlich etwas zu sehen: Das österreichische Bundesheer leitet den Tag – zur Ehrung des Landes Österreich – mit einer Kranzniederlegung am äußeren Burgtor ein und geht dann über zu einer stolzen Informations- und Leistungsschau am Wiener Heldenplatz, in der Teinfaltstraße, der Schottengasse, der Freyung und am Hof. Zu guter Letzt kommt es anschließend zur Angelobung der Rekruten in Anwesenheit der Bundesregierung am Heldenplatz. Heuer übernimmt diese Aufgabe die Nationalratspräsidentin Doris Bures und damit erstmals eine Frau.

Kultur pur!

Wer an diesem Feiertag jedoch eher auf Kunst und Kultur setzt, kommt am Nationalfeiertag in Wien ebenfalls voll und ganz auf seine Kosten: Viele Museen – wie beispielsweise das Natur- und Kunsthistorische Museum sowie das Museum der Angewandten Kunst – kann man an diesem Tag bei günstigerem Eintritt oder gar gratis besuchen. Außerdem hat man an die seltene Möglichkeit, das Parlament das Bundeskanzleramt und die Präsidentschaftskanzlei kostenfrei zu besuchen. Denn diese öffnen nur an diesem Tag exklusiv ihre Tore, um den interessierten Besuchern die Möglichkeit zu bieten, einen Blick „hinter die Kulissen“ der politischen Hotspots zu ermöglichen.

Bleibt uns nur zu sagen: Einen schönen Tag, dir, viel geliebtes Österreich!