Background Image

Vienna plants fir trees along the Vienna Ring Road

Friday April 1st, 2016

Background Image
wix to wordpress conversion

tannenbaum

 

The existing lawns are successively replaced

The fact that Vienna’s Ring Road is one of the most beautiful boulevards is well-known. That it has also the stuff to the festive mood maker since its first Christmas illumination last year, too. That is why the department of the Christmas Lighting Service of the Vienna Chamber of Commerce has now decided to make the Vienna Ring a parade project in terms of Christmas: the planting of fir trees along the road.

The fir trees should not simply mix themselves under the existing tree stock. “The planes, maples and lime trees currently located on the Vienna Ring gradually yield a total of around 1,500 fir trees from mid-April. We use the typical Christmas trees here – but in an improved version: blueprints and “Nordmann” fir trees, which were bred without gene manipulation and whose branches are also formed only from about three meters high, “says the office of the Christmas Illumination Service. These species also grow particularly tightly and evenly, making them the ideal bearers of any Christmas decorations.

This is also what is planned for the Vienna Ring Road in the future. Fairy lights, Christmas tree balls, etc., are to decorate the trees. “The Vienna Ring is a glittering spectacle at Christmas. Instead of the cold and desolate broadleaves that are so cold in the winter, the pine trees should intensify the Christmas flair”, the office says.

What is already happening with the 1,900 trees, which have already been planted at the opening of the Wiener Ringstrasse 150 years ago, is now clear. Those who are still in good health will expand the “Auwald of the Lobau” or find a new home in the parks of Vienna.

 

Anyone who does not really believe this contribution is right: We wish you a merry 1 April.

Background Image

Wien pflanzt Tannenbäume entlang des Wiener Rings

Freitag, der 1. April 2016

Background Image
wix to wordpress conversion

tannenbaum

 

Die vorhandenen Laubbäume werden sukzessive ersetzt

Dass die Wiener Ringstraße zu den schönsten Prachtboulevards zählt, ist längst bekannt. Dass sie seit ihrer erstmaligen Weihnachtsbeleuchtung im letzten Jahr auch das Zeug zum festlichen Stimmungsmacher hat, auch. Darum hat die Abteilung des Weihnachtsbeleuchtungs-Service der Wiener Einkaufsstraßen nun beschlossen, den Wiener Ring zum Paradeprojekt in Sachen Weihnachten zu machen: Mit der Pflanzung von Tannenbäumen entlang der Fahrbahn.

Die Tannenbäume sollen sich dabei nicht einfach unter den vorhandenen Baumbestand mischen. „Die derzeit am Wiener Ring befindlichen Platanen, Ahorne und Linden weichen ab Mitte April sukzessive insgesamt rund 1.500 Tannenbäumen. Wir setzen hier auf die typischen Weihnachtsbäume – allerdings in ‚verbesserter‘ Version: Blaufichten und Nordmann-Tannen, die ohne Genmanipulation abgasresistent gezüchtet wurden und deren Zweige sich auch erst ab ca. drei Metern Höhe ausbilden“, heißt es aus dem Büro des Weihnachtsbeleuchtungs-Service. Diese Arten wachsen auch besonders dicht und gleichmäßig, was sie zu den idealen Trägern von jeglichem Weihnachtsschmuck macht.

Das ist es auch, was in Zukunft für die Wiener Ringstraße geplant ist. Lichterketten, Christbaumkugeln & Co. sollen die Bäume schmücken, „Der Wiener Ring wird an Weihnachten ein leuchtendes, funkelndes Spektakel. Statt den im Winter so kahlen und trostlosen Laubbäumen sollen die Tannenbäume das weihnachtliche Flair noch intensivieren“, teilt das zuständige Büro mit.

Was mit den rund 1.900 Bäumen, von denen einige bereits bei der Eröffnung der Wiener Ringstraße vor 150 Jahren gepflanzt wurden, passiert, steht auch schon fest. Jene, die noch bei guter Gesundheit sind, werden in der Lobau den Auwald erweitern beziehungsweise in Wiener Parks ein neues Zuhause finden.

 

Wer diesen Beitrag nicht so ganz glauben mag, der liegt richtig: Wir wünschen einen fröhlichen 1. April.